Mac OS X Version 10.4.x

Preventing .DS_Store File Creation Over Network Connections

Problem

When a Macintosh Workstation running OS X version 10.4.x saves or copies a file to a network drive, files of the same name preceded by "._" and/or a .DS_Store file are created in the target directory. This file is a manifestation of the Macintosh file's resource fork which contains screen position, icon size, and things like that. You can read more about it by going to http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/4876-extra-apple-files-when-saving-usb-disk.html.

Resolution

At the Macintosh Workstation

  1. The creation of the .DS_Store file (and ._files?) can be suppressed ( see http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1629) by
  2. opening the Terminal utility (Hard drive/Applications/Utilities/Terminal)
  3. typing defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true <Return>
  4. and by restarting the Macintosh workstation.

Created by Norman A. Teck
December 28, 2007